Club News

Back to News

Maccabi Ajax Cricket Club Award night Winners.

Posted: 20-Jun-2017 by Cricket Senior

On Sunday June 18 2017, the Maccabi Ajax Cricket Club gathered together to recognise the efforts of the 2016/17 cricket season.  The night began with presentations from club president Ian Ludsk, coach Rowan Bricker and Saturday XI premiership captain David Fayman, before a host of club life members and legends presented awards to this years players. Special thanks to Les Kausman, Ray Saffer, Harry Newhouse, Ben Sternfeld, Richard Lustig and Clive Fredman in making the effort to come and present the awards and share some of the clubs history with the playing group.

Congratulations to Ray Saffer medalist Dov Paltiel on his stellar season with both bat and ball.

Other Winners include:
Leonard Burman Club Championship - Outstanding 1st XI Cricketer - Dov Paltiel
Michael Klinger Award - Rising Star -  Sam Bryel
Rob Lourie Award - Most Determined Cricketer - Shmuli Rosenbaum
Harry Newhouse Award - Most Dedicated Trainer - Zak Pollak
Les Kausman Award - Most Consistent Cricketer - Ian Jones
Ernie Adler Award - Most Improved Cricketer - Jono Baruch
Kurt Defris Award - Outstanding Service to the Club - Benji Jones
Hans Spitz Award - Best Clubman - David Fayman
Shawne Rubinstein Award - Best Fieldsman - Aaron Fetter

Batting and Bowling Awards:
Saturday XI Batting Award - Devan Spilkin (290 runs @ 41.43)
Saturday XI Bowling Award - Reece Israel (24 wickets @ 7.46)
3rd XI Batting Award - David Smith (200 runs @ 33.33)
3rd XI Bowling Award - Ian Jones (34 wickets @13.09)
Aggregate Batting Award - Sam Brygel (399 runs)
Aggregate Bowling Award - Ian Jones (34 wickets)

Team of the year: Sam Brygel, Zev Aron, Devan Spilkin, Joel Hamilton, Benji Jones, Reece Israel, Dov Paltiel, David Fayman (c), Ben Miller, Simon Fisher, Ian Jones, Jason Webb (12th Man)

Ray Saffer with Best and Fairest winner Dov Paltiel