Club News

Back to News

Klinger named in Teams of the Year

Posted: 22-Mar-2010 by Cricket Senior

Michael Klinger

South Australian Redback, and former Maccabi AJAX cricketer, Michael Klinger, was last week named in The Johnnie Walker Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA) All Star Teams for both the Sheffield Shield and Ford Ranger Cup interstate competitions, including being named as vice-captain for the Sheffield Shield four-day team.

Klinger had another stellar season for South Australia, scoring 886 runs at an average of 63.28 in the Sheffield Shield, while also piling on 502 runs @ 55.78 in the Ford Ranger Cup.

He was also named as the State Player of the Year for the second consecutive season at the Allan Border Medal awards night last month.

The Johnnie Walker ACA Four-day Team of the Year in batting order is:

Ed Cowan (TAS)
Phillip Hughes (NSW)
Michael Klinger (SA) vice-captain
George Bailey (TAS) Captain
Usman Khawaja (NSW)
Steven Smith (NSW)
Chris Hartley (QLD)
John Hastings (VIC)
Ben Cutting (QLD)
Trent Copeland (NSW)
Peter George (SA)
12th man David Hussey (VIC)

The Johnnie Walker ACA One-day Team of the Year in batting order is:

Michael Klinger (SA)
Phillip Jaques (NSW)
Bradley Hodge (VIC) vice-captain
George Bailey (TAS) Captain
Lee Carseldine (QLD)
Travis Birt (TAS)
Matthew Wade (VIC)
John Hastings (VIC)
Xavier Doherty (TAS)
Ben Cutting (QLD)
Nathan Rimmington (QLD)
12th man Daniel Christian (SA)